charmed blue logo
the four halliwell sisters

What is at about ? Prue, Piper and Phoebe Halliwell, three sisters who share the family home in San Francisco discover that they come from a long line of witches. One can move objects, another can freeze time, the third has visions of the future. Guided by the Book of Shadows, the family’s collection of incantations, and supported by their guardian angel Leo, they will fight evil relentlessly.

Why it is a milestone in the history of series : the series is driven by its trio of actresses. Shy at first, their characters quickly become formidable warriors and passionate advocates of magical justice. The feminist message may seem simplistic and dated today, but back then it was still useful.

But for me, it’s mainly the staging of magic that has revived a tradition while dusting it off: herbs, crystals and potions, colorful fire, exploding demons, time standing still… It’s kitschy and Manichean, but it works! Between angels and demons, the love stories of the three sisters revisit the myth of impossible love. It’s cute as can be, and looks good even 25 years later.

8 seasons, 178 episodes (42 mn), 1998-2006, Warner Bros, now on Prime video


  • Showrunner : Constance M. Burge / Producer : Aaron Spelling
  • Shannen Doherty / Prue Halliwell
  • Holly Marie Combs / Piper Halliwell
  • Alyssa Milano / Phoebe Halliwell
  • Rose Mc Gowan / Paige
  • Brian Krause / Leo
  • Julian Mc Mahon / Cole Turner
  • And : Kaley Cuoco, Dorian Gregroy, Jennifer Rhodes…

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top